Fringe 30 celebrated in a magical awards ceremony

Press Release 26 July 2009

Buxton Festival Fringe presented its eagerly awaited Fringe Awards on Sunday, July 26 in the Fine Dining Room at the Dome, home of Fringe sponsor, the University of Derby Buxton.

Chair Stephanie Billen welcomed the Mayor of the High Peak, Tony Bingham, to the event and praised the high standard of entrants to this, the 30th Buxton Fringe: 'The Fringe Awards recognise excellence, and the competition is very fierce, given the amount of excellence that was present at this year's Fringe.'

Amongst the eventual award winners were three shows with magic at their centre, Love and Other Magic Tricks, which won the best production award, Piff the Magic Dragon, which won best comedy show, and High Jinx (best in the 'other event' category). Young performers from Buxton Community School won best production for Road, with Dan Waters winning best young actor for the same show. The sell-out production of The Roses of Eyam won the Best Street Theatre award.

Stephanie also presented a special Fringe30 award to Yaz Al-Shaater, Tom Crawshaw and Michael Grady-Hall for their contribution to the Fringe in the setting up of Underground Venues as well as their years of valuable performances over many years.

Award winners receive free entry to next year's Fringe, plus certificates. The full list of nominations is as follows, with the winners printed in bold:

Best comedy show:

Hiya and Higher (Barbara Nice)

Parannoyance (Lab Monkey Productions)

Piff the Magic Dragon (Piff-tacular)

Best comedy individual:

Helen Keen (The Primitive Methodist Guide to Arctic Survival)

Tam Hinton (The Truth Is I Can't Stop Telling Lies)

Marcel Lucont (GSOH in the Barrel Room)

Best dance show:

Day of Dance (Chapel-en-le-Frith Morris Men)

Lost and Found (Katie Green)

Spiltmilk Say Dance (Spiltmilk Dance)

Best film event:

Buxton Film Weekend (Buxton Film)

Best family event:

Another Five Go Mad in Buxton (Black Box Theatre Company)

Investigating the Ice Age (Buxton Museum & Art Gallery)

What Became of the Red Shoes (Little Pixie Productions)

Ye Gods (The Young REC Theatre Company)


Best large ensemble:

Music for Strings (Amaretti Chamber Orchestra)

Orchestra Concert (High Peak Orchestra)

Youth Orchestra and Youth Chorale Concert (Derbyshire City & County Music Partnership)

Best small ensemble:

Acapella Jazz and Blues (Helen and the Lovenotes)

Celebrating the Cello: Music for the Cello Ensemble (Celloscope)

Critical Mass featuring Gilad Atzmon

It Ain't Just Baroque (The Buxton Minstrels)

Music for Oboe and Guitar (Marios Argiros and Dimitris Dekavallas)

Sacred Medieval Singing in a Natural Cathedral (Bright Cecilia)

Best solo performance:

James Rippingale (Classical Guitar Recital)

Men Diamler

Margaret Ferguson (An Evening with Africa's Lady of Song)

Richard Parry (Pirates in the Caribbean)

Sam Dunkley

Susie Self (Seachanges)

Best young musician:

Tyler Cooper (Tideswell Male Voice Choir)

Emma Hopkins

Ailsa Hoyle (It Ain't Just Baroque)

Best spoken word event:

The spoken world of Mark Gwynne Jones and the Psychicbread

Welcome to the UK! (Monkey Poet)

When Nothing Happens by Sophie Tilley (The Spare Room)

Best street theatre event:

The Roses of Eyam (The Roses of Eyam Project)

The Shakespeare Jukebox (Buxton Drama League)


Best production:

The Cutting (Freerange Theatre Company)

18 Stupid Reasons Why I Love You Lots and Lots (Cheap Seats)

Faustus (Non Stop Cabaret Theatre Company)

Grimm's (Con Ghiaccio Theatre Company)

Love and Other Magic Tricks (standnotamazed)

Stolen Voices (Neyire Ashworth)

Two Bennetts: A Double Bill (Stage Three Theatre Company)

Best young production:

9.47am (Connect:4)

Animal Farm (Black Box Theatre School)

Brokenville (Imagine Theatre Company)

Road (Sketch Theatre Company)

Best actor:

Bryony Harding (Butter Side Up)

Jennifer Cloran (Can't Stand Up For Falling Down)

Linzi Matthews (The Cutting)

Melissa Hurlbutt (Faustus)

Michael Grady-Hall (Play on Words)

Meriel Rosenkranz (Play on Words)

Neyire Ashworth (Stolen Voices)

Rebecca Charnley (The Tempest)

Ann Sturmey (Two Bennetts)

Mike Brown (Two Bennetts)

David Frederickson (The Unknown Land)

Fran Clifford (The Roses of Eyam)

Best young actor:

Rob Hamilton (Road)

Dan Waters (Road)

Emily Poulter (Brokenville)

Jade Simpson (Ye Gods)

Best new writing:

Alistair McDowall (18 Stupid Reasons Why I Love You Lots And Lots)

John van der Put (Love and Other Magic Tricks)

Neyire Ashworth (Stolen Voices)

Ben Moores (Why Me?)

Helen Keen (The Primitive Methodist Guide to Arctic Survival)

Sophie Tilley (When Nothing Happens)

Scott Flynn, Nikita Lane, Rici Puddock, Elizabeth Sale (9:47)

Visual Arts:

Best exhibition:

Art Spectrum

The Derbyshire Open (Buxton Museum and Art Gallery)

Entente Art Florale (High Peak Artists & Craft Workers' Association)

From Cuba to Curbar (Suzanne Pearson)

Planet Domestos - and Beyond (Adrienne and Langley Brown)

Theatre of the Unique (Buxton Museum and Art Gallery)

Vers@tile exhibition for Fringe 30 (Vers@tile)

Individual artist:

Kelly Dyson (Don't Wake Me Up)

Sandra Orme (Art Spectrum, Derbyshire Open, Entente Art Florale, Great Dome Art Fair, Vers@Tile)

Rob Wilson (Art Spectrum, Derbyshire Open, Entente Art Florale)

Sue Platt (Theatre of the Unique)

Best other event:

High Jinx: Deliverance (High Jinx)

Spirit of the Fringe:

Our World Tour (Chapel Jam Nite)

Power Music Weekend (Prince of Wales)

Open Poetry Slam

Art on the Railings

Art Spectrum